How much lipstick do you eat in a year and over your lifetime?

This graph assumes lipstick use begins at 16 years old

There is speculation among some of the cosmetic related websites that women who wear lipstick ingest anywhere from four pounds during her lifetime, up to one pound per year – depending on the website.   I thought that sounded interesting, so I did some rough calculations and created a couple of charts to share with you.

To create the first chart, I estimated how many lipsticks I use in a year – placed that number at two lipsticks per year.   Then, I placed the age most women begin to use lipstick at sixteen years.   You can see that by the age of 67, if lipstick use averaged two per year, a woman would have used 100 tubes of lipstick.   How much do 100 lipsticks weigh?

This chart estimates the cumulative weight of lipstick use

To answer this question, I created the second chart.   It’s based on 5 grams per tube.  My lipsticks weigh less than 5 grams per tube and about a third of that is used to anchor the stick – probably about three grams per tube is more accurate.  According to the chart, if you were to ingest every gram of lipstick in your large lipstick tube, you would ingest just over 2 pounds of lipstick by the time you were 67 years old.

Much of the lipstick is used to anchor the stick into the tube – if you take this into account, the amount of lipstick one would use at two per year would be more like 1 pound by the time you were 67 years old, and I estimate this is probably still on the high side because some of the lipstick ends up on your drinking glass and getting wiped off during the day.

Conclusion:   The charts assume all the lipstick is ingested, I estimate I actaully ingest half of what I apply.   Therefore,  I estimate using two lipsticks per year results in approximately 3 grams of lipstick ingestion per year – that would be one lipstick (the part that sticks above the turning mechanism).  In fifty years, I estimate I would ingest to approximately 5.35 ounces – one third of a pound.

That was a fun exercise; I hope you enjoyed it too!  Long live pouty puckers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacqueline DeWylde
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 21:11:24

    It surprises me that people are worried about this. I use a lot of lip gloss too. LOL! I’m not giving up my cosmetics though. That’s for sure! 🙂 Your lipsticks are so beautiful.

    Reply

    • AustinElements
      Jun 02, 2012 @ 09:27:51

      Hi Jacqueline!
      I just figured out how to respond to comments – pardon my late response, still learning my way around 😉
      Thank you for the kind comments about my lipstick 🙂
      It is surprising what people worry about, but I understand since we still don’t know what causes cancer. Personally, I think the disease has been around since before industrial revolution, people just are lucky to live in a time when the life expectancy is extended. In any case, I try to research and study the ingredients, and weigh the risk:benefit. Hmmm, I need to make a list for more postings!
      Sincerely,
      ~Pamela

      Reply

Leave a Reply

NeverTooMuchGlitter Nail Wonderland

Each Nail Is A Tiny Canvas

DIY Cosmetics LLC since 2004

Empty Makeup Containers for DIY and DIY Cosmetic Containers

Realize Beauty

Written by Professional Cosmetic Chemist Amanda Foxon-Hill

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

