Supply Chain Issues

I’ve been using iron oxides for the lipstick colors so far.   I’m finding that the red oxides have a strong yellow undertone, even the red oxide blue shade.     I’m looking for a red with a cleaner color profile, so I went to my source and was thinking about cochineal for a clean red color.   I was surprised to see the price is quite high, and a note from the supplier that supply from Mexico has been disrupted.  

So I thought I’d do a quick search on cochineal, supply disruption, Mexico, etc.   I couldn’t find any new info about this, but it did get me to thinking about supply chain issues.  I always have supply chain issues in the back of my mind, because there isn’t much variety of waxes available to purchase in the USA on a hobby type of scale.    I have found some vegetable waxes that perform consistently and seem to be stable in my particular application, but they are all from a single manufacturer.  

I didn’t find any information about the tight cochineal supply, but I did find a wonderful website devoted to the study of supply chain issues:

http://www.husdal.com/

This website is dedicated to the science of supply chain management!   Wow, I felt like I’d struck gold!!   I know other small businesses have supply chain concerns, it’s fabulous to find a website that addresses these concerns and offers different perspectives and cites additional material for further study – bravo!!

Leave a Reply

NeverTooMuchGlitter Nail Wonderland

Each Nail Is A Tiny Canvas

DIY Cosmetics LLC since 2004

Empty Makeup Containers for DIY and DIY Cosmetic Containers

Realize Beauty

Written by Professional Cosmetic Chemist Amanda Foxon-Hill

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

